What does it mean to you to receive the Visionary Award from East West Players?

East West Players has had an amazing tradition through the years supporting Asian Americans in the entertainment business. The fact I’m being recognized by them is an extreme honor. Even when I was a kid watching plays and musicals by East West Players, they’ve been a strong core for giving Asian American actors, directors and beyond, a forum to tell great stories and hear new voices. I’m excited to be a part of that tradition and look forward to continuing to push boundaries with them in the future.

What advice would you give to another Asian American trying to break into the business? – Valerie via Facebook
Tell great stories. Keep making things. Don’t get caught up in trying to prove anything. Just do the work and do it well and they can’t and won’t ignore you.

If you weren’t a director, what would you be doing instead?
I’d be involved in other ways of making movies. Maybe it would be sound, maybe it would be cinematography. It would still be something creative. There would be no way it wouldn’t be a job making things because that’s where I feel most comfortable.

In a movie about your life, who would you want to portray you? – Krystel via East West Players Staff
George Clooney. Just kidding! I would say, Byung Hun Lee because he has my abs.

Pinkberry or Yogurtland?
Pinkberry. Original, no toppings and on special occasions, a dabble of mochi.

Anything else you’d like to add, and let your fans know?
Ever since I first started, the fans have been there for me. I’m in this business because the fans keep coming back, they keep buying tickets, and they believe in me even when the world doesn’t. I want to thank them for keeping me company on Twitter, giving me great ideas and great feedback. We live in a new world where filmmaker and his or her fans can feel like we’re in it together, and I truly feel that way. I can’t wait for us to continue our journey together in the coming years.

